The Joy of Friendship.

There are few things I enjoy more in my life than time with my friends. The only thing that compares is family time. Since I don’t live near my family my friends become family. They are the people who are able to read me like a book. Tell when I’m lying if I say I’m fine. They know the words to cheer me up and tell me what I need to hear even if I don’t want to hear it. I feel incredibly blessed to have the people I do in my life.

I’m so very lucky to have made great friends at all the ‘stops’ in my life. I have a handful of people in my life that I know I can call when all hell breaks loose and I feel like I’m going to break. They will pick up the phone and stop what they are doing to tell me everything will be fine. When my house burned down the first thing I thought after finding out my dad was fine was to call my friends. I needed support. I needed a sense of normalcy. Unfortunately I was a blubbering mess because my house was on fire and it would be an hour before I could get home. I called a girl who has been one of my best friends from the age of 5, she will lie and tell you she wasn’t at my 5th birthday party but she was, I can’t even remember what I said to her but I remember her just talking to me. Nothing spectacular but knowing she was listening and cared mattered. (although since I was a blubbering mess she thought I said my dad had died at first but once we got the confusion out-of-the-way … a house burning down didn’t seem so bad) We’ve been friends for so long we can go months without talking and catch up like its nothing. I know there is nothing that can cause us not to be friends. She is my childhood best friend and continues until this days. Here’s to 20 years of friendship!

When my parents were going through their divorce and I found myself in phone fights with them my roommate at the time, but more importantly one of the best friends I’ve met in my life, would just sit and listen to me cry about it. She gave what advice she could and made sure I knew she was there for me. One of the things I love about our friendship is we’ve been through so much together. Between losing loved ones, houses and sometimes our sanity over boys we’ve always found a way to support each other. We push each other to be the best people we can be and moving out of our townhouse and eventually to a new city is one of the hardest things I’ve done. I miss seeing her daily but we talk all the time. I can’t remember not knowing her. I don’t want to imagine my life without her as a friend.

Indianapolis has provided me with many friendships.

It first opened the door for my friendship with Brittany, whom is my go to call when funny/awkward situations happen in my life. She truly appreciates them and has probably also encountered the same thing. We both went to Butler but really became friends when we worked together back in Kentucky. That summer is one of my favorites…ever. Working with your friends is the best, although I’m not sure how much working we really did.

Lastly there are 2 girls who today have made a huge impact on my life. They made my transition to Indianapolis much smoother than it could have been. Unfortunately one of them had to move out for me to move in but the things happening in her life bring me so much joy its unbelievable. She is marrying a wonderful man and I have the honor of being in the wedding. Then there is my roommate. My crazy roommate who reminds me to find the joy in life every day. She is the most caring, non-judgmental person I’ve ever met. She inspires me daily to be a better person.  When I was away from Indy for 3 years these 2 girls were always there for me. I knew their friendship would be life long and since I’ve moved back they have been great cheerleaders in my life. This week has been a tough one at some point for all three of us. I found that we dug in deep and brought out the best in each other. That I would stop my life to help either of them. That I would put aside my own views to make sure they were happy and try to see their point. They have in turn encouraged me to not be so hard on myself. They’ve boosted my confidence and reminded me that good things are in store.

I can only hope that everyone has at least one friend like these girls in my life and believe me there are a few more I could write about. I don’t know what I did to deserve to have these people in my life but I am thankful. I’m thankful the lessons they teach me and for the woman they are helping shape me to be with their friendship.

Grateful.

 

Leave a Reply

