Authenticity.

Yesterday I heard a sermon on authenticity and the idea brought up some thoughts I’d been having lately. The definition for authenticity is the quality of being authentic; genuineness.  I think most of us want to authentic. Recently though I have found myself being pushed and pulled away from who I am so that I might acquire certain things. What happened though is that not being me has caused quite a bit more trouble than if I was being me the whole time. The situations have brought up a whole new realization to who I am and what I’m about. I have this conviction to be genuine with everyone. To be open/honest and upfront with everyone. I might be trusting and honest to a fault but it’s who I am and I’ve decided I shouldn’t make apologies for that trait. Like most people have this feeling of want and validation but I’m realizing now that I do not need validation at the sake of me losing my genuineness. Its the most refreshing thought and relization that being me is enough.

And because every post needs some music and this is one of the most authentic artist out now.  Also, this song has been a staple in my life for the past 5 months. So take a listen.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NAc83CF8Ejk&ob=av2n

Leave a Reply

