The Holidays!

It’s one of my favorite times of the year…the holidays are here! I love Thanksgiving and Christmas. I think I’ve learned to appreciate them soooo much more since I’ve moved away from home. It’s the 2 times a year that I can count on that I’ll get to go home for sure. This year from the first time in about 4 years I’ll get to stay home for the entire weekend for Thanksgiving! I’ve always had to work the Friday after so this year I’m going to enjoy being home and visiting friends! I’m going to spend Thanksgiving with the family and spend a couple days in Lexington with my friends. Also, I’m excited (even though I shouldn’t be) about going to the UK football game. This is the first season in a while that I haven’t been able to go to a game.  I’m crossing my fingers maybe just maybe they’ll surprise me and beat Tennessee. That would be wonderful!

After Thanksgiving means it’s time to start decorating for Christmas! Again, I love the holidays. This year will have to be very very budget friendly decorations though. There is this super cool website that has 20 Super Easy Inexpensive Decorations. I’m going to have to try some of these out.  The other thing that happens around this time of year is my desire to bake is kicked up a notch. In past years I have had people to feed. This year not so much. That is what happens when you work at a culinary school…there are always snacks around so no need for me to make more. I think I’ll be baking goodies as Christmas presents this year. That’s my inexpensive gift to everyone…you’re welcome.

But before I get ahead of myself and start all my Christmas planning I’m going to focus on the holiday at hand. I’m very thankful this year for so many things. First for the grace and love my God has shown me. It’s been a long rough year but I’m starting to feel stronger and more hopeful than ever…His will and plan are perfect I just have to trust.  I’m thankful for my family. They’ve been my backbone for a great part of this year. They put up with my moving and my wild ideas of about what I want to be and they continue to support me. I’m thankful for my friends that have loved me beyond belief. Sometimes I’m not the best friend but they stick with me in spite of that. I’m thankful for the growth I’ve seen in some of my friendships. I’m thankful for the example some of my friends have set for me. That’s only the beginning of my thankful list. I could go on and on for days. But we do not have that much time.

So just in case I don’t make another posting before Thursday I hope everyone has a Happy Happy Happy Thanksgiving! Enjoying time with family and realizing the blessings we have in this life.

Leave a Reply

