Shake it Out!

So one of my favorite bloggers tweeted about this song this other day … “Shake it Out” by Florence + the Machine. I thought why not go check it out, usually we don’t have the same taste in music by why not try it. Let me tell you I was blown away by the relevance this song has to my life right now.

Recently, as in the last 2 months my life has changed quite a bit. I’ve gone from being so concrete in my decisions to being reminded that everything can change in a matter of weeks. I’ve realized that my pride has been hurting me more than I thought, and I hadn’t quite come just as far as I thought in regards to other people opinions in my life. As painful as these moments in life are I’ve learned they are necessary for growing. That it’s during these moments we realize just how strong we are and just who we can rely on in life. I’ve learned that moving on doesn’t mean giving up just means that right now there isn’t much hope in the situation. So I’m hurting myself more by staying in the situation. I’ve learned that others will have opinions about what I should do in just about any situation in my life. Whether is be who I spend my time with, how often I drive to Lexington, if I move, where I should go to school and just about anything else you can nit-pick about me. I’ve been broken down and cried because I’m tired of defending myself and my decisions. I know my heart and I know my intentions I just wish people would trust that I do know what I’m doing a little bit, and that I know I may end up hurt but life hurts. Life isn’t easy and it isn’t about playing the safe road.

I’ve had to make a hard decision recently. It’s going to change a lot in my life and I’ve taken a lot of slack for it because sometimes people don’t believe I’ve thought things through. I’ve decided Lexington is where I want to be. That if I end up there permanently that it’ll be ok. I’m not moving for just one reason. I’m moving for a multitude of reasons. I don’t know what the future holds and if anyone knows me well they know I do not make rash decisions. I’ve been thinking things through for a while. I decided why wait 18 months for a move when I’m kind of unhappy and the move can be made in May. I’m terrified of what could happen but I have that feeling that this is right. I’m terrified I’ll end up with a broken and battered heart but life isn’t easy and not sure I want the easy path. My heart has hope once again, it’s something I didn’t have when I moved to Indy. I didn’t have this type of hope and faith. I had to learn … a lot. and obviously I’m not done learning. But I’m happy with my decisions. I don’t have many regrets in my life. The move to Indy will never be considered a bad move because I’ve grown leaps and bounds here. I’m going to keep on my merry little way and smile. Because that is what I do best.

So enjoy this video, get up and dance, and just shake it off today:

Leave a Reply

