Peace.

It’s sometimes funny how themes run in our lives. No matter which way I turned earlier this week the theme of perseverance and trials were abundant. They were in my daily devotion, my Bible reading and in my book I read at the gym. This verse came up and while I’ve heard it multiple times in multiple sermons it just took on a whole new meaning this week.

“We can rejoice, too, when we run into problems and trials, for we know that they help us develop endurance. And endurance develops strength of character, and character strengthens our confident hope of salvation.” – Romans 5: 3-4

I never think to rejoice during my problem times. I think to complain and be negative. But this week something changed on Monday. I don’t like being negative. I like smiling and I love laughing. So even though there are problems I’m going to rejoice in them learn. I’m going to allow my character to be strengthened and allow myself to form new habits of hope and perseverance. Because my character is what people will remember. They will remember how I reacted and how I treated others. I want to be remembered as someone good, who loved with everything she had.

Along with the theme of perseverance comes the idea of peace. I think we all want peace. I want peace in my life. Not for everything to be perfect but peace. I was reading while at the gym Cold Tangerines, which is a book I will continue to read and re-read for a long time, and I came upon the section where she talks about her struggle with weight and body image. She makes the statement that when she finally found peace in that area she realized that didn’t mean life was perfect or that she had peace in all areas. I have known for a while that just because I have peace in one area doesn’t mean life will be perfect but I had the hope that things would ‘fall’ into place. Now I’m finding peace in the idea that things aren’t perfect but that doesn’t mean they will always be bad. That because my living situation will be changing for the better it doesn’t mean everything else will be perfect. But I’m happy with my choices and I have peace in that. I have hope for the first time in a while that no matter what happens my happiness and peace and my self worth come from within and shouldn’t be affected by outside circumstances. I know everyday won’t be easy. But it’s worth it. That’s what matters.

“Peace isn’t the absence of conflict, but the ability to cope with it.”

 

Leave a Reply

