Friday Review of the Week

I know I’m not the only one feeling this way but I am so glad this week is over with. Something about this snowy/icy weather makes for long weeks. I get the mid-week/winter depression and it hangs over me. I hate it. I feel all out of sorts and confused. Honestly, I broke last night. I just cried and it felt ok. Sometimes we have to let go of being so strong and just let it be. Yesterday was the loneliest I have felt in a while and it wasn’t good. But as with my resolution I’ve looked at today as a new day and that I’m going to make it through this ‘season.’ In the spectrum of time 3 1/2 months isn’t that long and I’ve made it through worse. Also, just like usual something comes along that reminds me of the important things. That it’s ok and its a continuous growth in life. As Joyce Meyers puts it “I’m not where I need to be but thank God I’m not where I used to be.”

This week hasn’t been all bad though. I’ve been searching Pinterest as usual and found lots of ideas I love. Many I will never have the time or money to complete but nevertheless I love them.

I pretty much picked out the bridesmaids dress I want to wear at my sisters wedding, yes another wedding I know. It’s very pretty and I can’t wait to try it on this weekend. I can’t wait to go home and get a hug from my pops and mom. All of my life I’ve taken for granted hugs and how important they are, and how a simple hug can just make everything right in the world. (well at least most hugs can, not those awkward hi which way do we go hugs, but real I care about you and make you feel safe hugs) I’ve missed them. I also realized this point last night. I miss affection in my life when I’m in this city. I don’t have the safe feeling. So basically I miss being hugged. And this is one of the reasons I can’t wait to get home this weekend!

I’ve recently discovered the Civil Wars and for King and Country. They both have been on constant repeat this week on my computer. I need music in my life while I’m studying. Otherwise I get distracted. I can sit at a Panera with my headphones in and get so much done. If I don’t have my music I will people watch all day long. This is probably my favorite song with The Civil Wars right now (it’s off the Hunger Games soundtrack, which I can’t wait to see this movie and it features Taylor Swift) … (notice the theme of safe and sound, it seems to be reoccuring in my life right now)

I also found a new blog I really like called Iowa Girl Eats … if you know me you know that me posting anything about Iowa is funny. I feel like I can relate to this blogger in a lot of ways and I find it enjoyable to read. She’s inspired me with her Friday Favorites.

And the recipe for the week comes from….who else the Pioneer Woman! Who has a show in Food Network now…I just can’t get enough of how much I respect this woman. She inspires me too.

Sorry I got on the tangent about hugs…sometimes that happens. I hope you have a fabulous weekend. I’m headed to the symphony for the first time on Saturday. I think I’ll enjoy it. If not at least now I’ll know!

Happy Weekend!

2 comments

  1. Sara · January 20, 2012

    I went to the Symphony for the first time last September and honestly, it felt kinda magical. I went by myself and enjoyed people watching. I usually don’t do things that “fancy”, but the theater itself was phenomenal, as was the music. Hope you like it just as much!

    • mistykathleen · January 23, 2012

      Funny thing is I mentioned to my boss that I’m not meant for ‘fancy’ things! I did like it, I want to go back in March (i think it is) because they are doing Motown!

Leave a Reply

