My Dear Sister LuLu!

So it’s a special week. It’s my sisters birthday week! I love to celebrate. I think I’ve said that before. I love making people feel special. I don’t really have the funds to get her a really big gift but I’m going to give her some cookies…made with lots of love!

I don’t think I’ve talked a lot about my sister on this blog but she is a special person in my life. Anyone that knows us can attest that we were not close growing up…at all. We were total opposites. She was the tom-boy and I was the girly girl who didn’t shut up. She has this intense emotional side while I keep my feelings close to my vest…or used to keep them close. While we haven’t always been close, right now in our lives we are the best we’ve ever been. We’ve learned to accept each other and just love each other. That’s why I’m writing this post … because I love her. And maybe because I want to tell some stories on her… and share embarrassing pictures. That’s true sisterly love!

One time we went fishing on the lake with my pops. Well I was sitting on the edge of the boat and she was supposed to be holding me, because that’s what big sisters do you know. Needless to say her fishing pole got a bite and you can take a guess what took precedent…yep the fish…I’m sure you can also guess who went falling over the side of the boat into the water…yep me. Good thing I had a life vest on and we were close to the shore so it wasn’t deep. That’s when I learned where I ranked in order of importance….fish over me any day!

Contrary to popular belief she used to be a UK fan! Obviously, the effects of my uncle dropping her on her head when she was younger didn’t show up until a later age when she became a UL fan.

One time when I ‘accidentally’ kicked her shoe, she punched me in the chest…like heart area…she could have killed me. Just wanted to get the truth out there. Ha ha.

When I moved away to Butler for college she was one of the first people to come visit me. I also found out she cried on the way home from dropping me off. I cried after they left. It was a tough transition but necessary to get out on my ‘own’ and become the woman I’m supposed to be. Truly, in life I just want to make my family proud. They mean the world to me and I wouldn’t be anything without their support.

I can’t tell you when our relationship took the turn to what we are now. I know a huge step came when our house burned down. We were there to support each other and I remember the day after just us hanging out and remember the fun times we had. Going through the ashes and finding memories, taking silly pictures and being ‘kids’ again. We had tons of worries but we had a little bit of space to just be carefree because sometimes that’s what is needed.

This year she is going to marry, my Matt, and I can’t wait. She deserves all the happiness in the world. Plus she is bringing the cutest little boy into our family, truthfully they’ve always been a part of the family but now it’ll be official. I can’t imagine my life without Matt and Cameron in it and I can thank my sister for that.

I also want to thank her for her constant unwaivering support of my decisions. She has seen how hard this past year has been on me and it’s been hard for her to keep her mouth shut to some people because her first reaction is to defend me but she has let me handle these situations. She has held me up in more ways than she knows. I have seen the growth she has made in these past few years and I’m so proud. She has become a woman with a great heart, deep convictions and a fierce protector of those she loves.

So LuLu I’m so very blessed to have you as my sister and as you approach the old age of 28 please please please remember that I love you. I’m very thankful for you. I want nothing but the best for you. I can’t wait to move closer to you. I couldn’t be happier for the type of year you are going to have and I’m just blessed to be a part of it. Thank you for all the support you’ve given me in my decisions to move to Indy, to Lexington, back to Indy and finally back to Lexington (hahaha). Thank you for offering to punch people that are jerks to me.

Enjoy this week and I can’t wait to celebrate with you this weekend! Much love! Here are some pictures to enjoy of my sister and I:

 

 

 

Lastly the most recent picture we have together and it’s one of my favorites:

One comment

  1. Dusty Simms · February 22, 2012

    First I hit you on the head with a cabbage patch doll not punch you in the chest which neither sound good but if we are telling the truth hee hee. I love you and thank you for loving me back. The turning point for me was when you moved away, I couldn’t protect you anymore. That broke my heart to leave you. As a sister it’s my job to be protective! I would rather have cookies made with love than any expensive gift. I have to thank Matt and Cameron for making new the person I am today. Thanks for sharing the pics I look like that Eddy Munster kid in the halloween one. I will always support you, protect you, love you, and be there for you. Remember I love you too!

    LuLu

Leave a Reply

