Thoughts on joy and a cheerful heart.

This past week has been a good one. I came back from Kentucky with a mostly clear mind and a open heart. I have heard before that you can’t really experience joy until you’ve experience sorrow. Now I don’t know if that is necessarily true but today I’m leaning towards yes. I think that sometimes until you experienced losing a love, a friend and a dream; you can’t fully appreciate those friends, loves and dreams you still have. At least this is true for me.

I haven’t been the best at experiencing these things in my life. I let the worry and the fear overtake my thoughts. I can become gloomy and scared. I don’t like that version of me. It’s not good. I take on other people’s energy and it affects me greatly. I need to learn to not let their opinions or moods affect me.

This all brought me to thoughts on joy and cheerfulness today. I’m a quote person.  I love them. I love words. I love wisdom. and sometimes I think wise words can open a new way of thinking. This morning I woke up with a mind to have a joy filled day. Yesterday was a little rough. I let the little things get me down. I let my thoughts and my mind work in overdrive, never a good thing. So I set my mind on having joy and cheer. I’ve already had someone comment on my smile today, which I love. I know everyday can’t be sunshine and flowers but I can set my mind to have joy, even in the sorrows because I know I’m taken care of. That I was created in such a beautiful image. That nothing I face can bring me completely down. I can’t place my joy in my feelings or the happenings of the world. I have a source of joy that isn’t worldly.

I’m learning to let go of the worldly hopes because I tend to dream in perfections. Like a perfect world this would happen. We don’t live in a perfect world. My new hopes are a lot better. I think it’s best spoken by Ms. Maya Angelou: “My great hope is to laugh as much as I cry; to get my work done and try to love somebody and have the courage to accept the love in return.” – I don’t expect a perfect love anymore. It’s a nice relief. It allows me to be me and accept what comes my way…with a cheerful spirit. People notice. And I like people to notice my smile rather than my frown.

So I’m trying to start my days with joy and a cheerful heart. To remember what I’m grateful for and how blessed I am. How the trials of my life are only trials, they aren’t life long. And to keep letting go of the ideal perfect and to live my life. As un-perfect and messy as it is, I’m creating a story that is only mine!

Leave a Reply

