Influential People

There are people that come into our lives and who have no particular intent change us and influence us. I’ve recently met one of these people. I was introduced to her by a friend of mine in Lexington, he thought she would be a good person for me to get to know and maybe discuss some of my faith questions with. He was absolutely correct. What I have found is a person who doesn’t judge me, invites me into her home anytime I need to get away, answers any questions I have, and listens to my issues. Her spirit is so loving and kind that I’m absolutely sad that I’m moving away from her in 3 weeks.

I started going to her house because I just didn’t know where else to turn. It was about 2 months ago when I hit a rock bottom. I’d let myself down, I’d let God down, and I just wasn’t sure where life was headed. I knew going in circles wasn’t good for me. So when he suggested I try this church and meeting her I said why not. The first day she let me just sit on her couch and cry and say what was in my heart. That I wasn’t sure how my God could love someone like me and how I could ask for forgiveness…this woman sat there and told me her story and then she did something great she quoted some scripture to me. She told me things I’ve heard all my life and just helped me see. I’ve seen a great improvement in my spiritual life and my attitude since spending time with her and going to her church.

What I realized is I’ve been so lucky to have influential women in my life throughout some of my biggest developmental years. Early on I had Cindy, Carole and Doris. I can’t and would rather not imagine what my life would be like without them. I still rely on their love and support probably more than they realize. When I’m home those three women are the ones I want to see at church, that I specifically look for. I’m so thankful that God has placed now 4 very special role models in my life. Women that love me and want nothing but the best for me. My last couple weeks here will be spent tying up loose ends, visiting with Sue quite a bit more, and continuing this growth. It’s truly is a great way for me to end my time here in Indianapolis!

Leave a Reply

