Coming Home.

I have 3 full days left in Indianapolis. I am hoping that people do not take my smile and happiness to be moving home as a sign of me not being sad. I cried on Sunday night saying goodbye to one of people I grew close to in recent months. It was sad even knowing I am going to see her again. Today I said goodbye to one of my best friends for the past 6 years.

I even feel this great swelling cry coming on later this week. I just don’t want to start that on Tuesday. I want to celebrate my time here and think about the impact I made on people. It’s hard to be sad when I am moving on to something that I fully believe is big and good for me! I have big plans, bigger than I’ve even let on here. I fully believe that good things are coming. My heart isn’t scared anymore, there is always the unknown. But I’m tired of worrying about if it will happen or won’t. I can’t control if people like me or not. All I can do is continue to love and be me and accept the love people give me. Home to me isn’t about a structure, bricks, and mortar. It’s about a feeling, a love, a safeguard, a kindness, a forgiveness, an acceptance. It’s a place where no matter what I look like, what I’m wearing, or what I’ve done I’m loved. It’s a place where I can clear my mind and heart. A place where I can cry my tears and get back up and stand. A place where support is unwavering. A place where my ideas can grow, where my dreams are supported, and my faith is rebuilt. It’s a place where I feel arms wrapped around me all the time telling me I’m going to be ok and that they are proud of me. A place where I do not have to have life figured out fully, a place where I can take a journey and be told that’s a great idea. Its a place I know I’m welcome and a place where I know I’m wanted. And that’s a good thing to feel.

I started thinking about some of my favorite songs about home. Here are a couple:

Coming Home- Country Strong.

“It’s a four letter word. A place you go to heal your hurt. It’s an altar, it’s a shelter. One place you’re always welcome. A pink flamingo, double wide. One bedroom in a high rise. A mansion on a hill. Where the memories always will. Keep you company whenever you’re alone. After all of my running. I’m finally coming Home – the world tried to break me. I found a road to take me. Home – there ain’t nothing but a blue sky now. After all of my running, I’m finally coming… Home.”

Miranda Lambert- The House that Built Me

Blake Shelton/Michael Buble- Home

JohnnySwim- Home

Adele- Hometown Glory

Jake Owen- Every Reason I Go Back

What are some other suggestions?

Leave a Reply

